Chunky Monsters

Today, we’re making Chunky Monster Cookies.

You might read that title as “Monster Cookies that are Chunky,” but to me, it’s “Cookies that are Chunky Monsters.” I like imagining Chunky Monster – a multicolor, slightly chubby cousin of Cookie Monster or Trekkie Monster.  But don’t be scared – the only ominous thing about these babies is how frightfully good they are.

The semester’s almost over, which means my office is preparing for the annual Stop Day luncheon. It’s also the time of year when I deliver freshly baked bribes…er…thank-you gifts…to the offices I work with most during the year. Seriously, these people are lifesavers and put up with a lot from me. So I figure a little sugar never hurts.

I tried a batch of these cookies a few weeks ago on my mom’s recommendation. They were her answer to my whining, “Moooooma! I need to make something goooood! What should I dooooooooo?!” She gave me the recipe, half the ingredients, and her signature Wing-It moves that took the recipe from good to great. The basic recipe is available here, courtesy of Paula.

These are dense, chunky nuggets of goodness. No flour, just peanut butter, oatmeal, chocolate, and dried cranberries. I played around with the chunk proportions with this batch. Paula recommended just 1/2 cup of each. I found a full 1 cup or 3/4 cup gave me chunky hunks of chewy, gooey, sweet, and tart – exactly what I was looking for.

The dough. As Nigella would say, "studded" with sweet, colorful gems.

Baking times were different for each tray. (I made three batches tonight.) Mostly, I used golf-ball size balls of dough, then baked until they just began to turn brown on the peaks. A just-barely baked cookie is fragile out of the over, but after cooling for a while becomes stable and retains its gooeyness.

Chunky Monsters are done!

And arranged on a $1 tray from WalMart, these Chunky Monsters make a cute gift fit to feed an office. Need some monsters in your life? Here’s how.

Chunky Monster Cookies

What you need:
3 eggs
1 cup granulated sugar
1 1/4 cup brown sugar
1 stick butter (I’m a Blue Bonnet girl, myself), softened
12 ounces peanut butter (I used about a third of a 40-oz. jar)
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla
4 1/2 cups oatmeal (quick-cooking)
2 tsp. baking soda
3/4 cup chocolate chips (whatever darkness/size you prefer)
3/4 cup dried cranberries
3/4 cup M&Ms, Reese’s Pieces baking bits, or whatever colorful candy-coated goodness you like

What to do:
In a mixer, combine the eggs and sugars. Mix well. (I mixed for about a minute, until the color had lightened and stuff was really combined.)

Add the butter, peanut butter, salt, and vanilla. Mix until combined well.

Add oatmeal and baking soda, mix until combined.

Mix in chocolate chips, cranberries, and M&Ms, stirring to ensure all the goodness is equally disributed.

Bake on lined greased cookie sheet (or use a silicon baking mat or parchment paper) at 350 until the cookies just start to brown. You don’t want to overbake these, and slightly underbaking is OK because it helps them remain chewy and amazing. Store in an airtight container or share with friends.

About LE

PR professional by day, writer by night. Remembering life isn't an episode of "Saved By the Bell." Getting culture, not babies.

Leave a Reply

