‘Tis of Thee

Tonight, I prefer poetry to politics. And maybe my own bit of commentary on the evening’s discourse.

America
From Good Poems: American Places.
(I think)
written by Garrison Keillor

My country, ’tis of thee,
Sweet land of liberty, of thee I sing:
Land where my fathers died,
Land of the pilgrims’ pride,
From every mountainside, let freedom ring!

Let music swell the breeze,
And ring from all the trees sweet freedom’s song;
Let mortal tongues awake;
Let all that breath partake;
Let rocks their silence break, the sound prolong.

O had I wings to fly
I’d mount up to the sky
With a big wahoo.
I’d wear a spangled suit,
A hat with lots of fruit,
And pull my parachute,
Red white and blue.

Sweet land of poetry,
Rhythm and harmony,
Sweet land of slang.
Doo-wop hip-hop kerflop,
Jelly roll and soda pop,
Wop bop a loo shbop
Shang a lang lang lang.

My country of romance
Where Fred and Ginger dance,
The Coasters sing.
God gave us rock and roll
And blues to make us whole
And give us heart and soul –
Long may it swing.

Beloved country thee,
May it be ever free
For rich and poor.
And may Miss Liberty
Standing beside the sea
Hold up her torch for me,
An open door.

My turn now:
Tax breaks, economy –
All sounds like spin to me.
Jim Lehrer’s mad.
Five trillion? Maybe not?
These answers aren’t so hot.
Is this the best we’ve got?
How’d it get this bad?

I just Googled “Jim Lehrer Mad.”

About LE

PR professional by day, writer by night. Remembering life isn't an episode of "Saved By the Bell." Getting culture, not babies.

Leave a Reply

