Lovely Love Poems

Every year, I forget how much I love February — mostly because it’s a 28-day excuse to write in pink pen, make hearts instead of dashes or I-dots, and generally celebrate the loves of my life. One of those? Poems.

This one is from today’s American Life in Poetry column by Ted Kooser. I love the Big Bang Theory-ness of it, and I love the apple vocabulary shared throughout.

 

Einstein’s Happiest Moment

Einstein’s happiest moment
occurred when he realized
a falling man falling
beside a falling apple
could also be described
as an apple and a man at rest
while the world falls around them.

And my happiest moment
occurred when I realized
you were falling for me,
right down to the core, and the rest,
relatively speaking, has flown past
faster than the speed of light.

–Richard M. Berlin

About LE

PR professional by day, writer by night. Remembering life isn't an episode of "Saved By the Bell." Getting culture, not babies.

Leave a Reply

